Manson in san fransisco mit helnwein

• SWELLS

Sunday, November 20, 2005

[.....]

Toasting his hosts, Stanlee delivered the highest praise: "I never thought I'd say this. But after tonight, I truly can say there really are two people who can give a better party than me."

Mod Squad: Gallerist Martin Muller promised, and delivered, a colorful evening celebrating "New Paintings," the latest exhibition by Austrian artist Gottfried Helnwein, at Modernism.

Especially if you're seated between Helnwein and his friend-collector Marilyn Manson at Muller's Modernism West annex for a postshow repast created by the artisans of Foreign Cinema.

"Just call me Manson," said the rocker, sporting a subdued version of his signature undead look. "I was a journalist once. But I got tired of too many boring interviews."

Hmm, I pondered. So my future is filled with face paint or this is going to a long, painful dinner ... for both of us.

But Helnwein and Manson are fascinating, articulate men who happen to create uncomfortable art. Manson even created his own movement -- Celebritarian Corp. -- which I shan't even attempt to interpret.

I pleaded similar ignorance of Helnwein's art, but was rewarded with a Bingo! moment, when I said his "Untitled" piece (featured on Martin's flyer) brought to mind a nightmarish version of "Alice in Wonderland."

Guess who plans to create a film about Lewis Carroll, with Manson in the starring role?

Helnwein lives in Ireland but paints in Los Angeles: "L.A. is a place for anarchy. It's a good place to create art." His countryman Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger sometimes drops by. "It's seldom I meet a politician I actually like," said Helnwein, laughing. "Arnold operates on the naive belief that you can make something better. He reinvents stuff."